The sighting by Surveyor George Evans in 1813 of three hills to the south is the first European record of the BLAYNEY district. Evans named these hills the Three Brothers. During an expedition in 1815, Evans set out from the fledging village of Bathurst towards the Three Brothers. As he travelled west, he observed a large flat mountain to the north which he named Mt Lachlan, later to become Mt Macquarie. He travelled through the present areas of Neville and Lyndhurst before discovering the Lachlan River.
There was temporary settlement throughout the area between 1821 and 1828.
The gold rush of the 1850s and 60s sparked the development of a number of settlements throughout the region including Blayney and Forest Reefs. Initially the shire was allocated for farming. However, with the opening and working of many mines, the townships flourished. The site eventually decided upon for the township of Blayney was in a picturesque valley with the Belubula River running along its eastern boundary.
With valuable gold came feared bushrangers, including the notorious Ben Hall, John Gilbert, John O'Meally, John Vane and Mickey Bourke. They were active throughout the district with a number of hold-ups along the roads to Carcoar.
The coming of the railway to Blayney in 1876, resulted in further development of the region with the towns of Newbridge and Millthorpe flourishing. The 1870s to 1880s saw great development in Blayney and it was during this time that many of the significant buildings, which still stand today, were built. For further information and links to other sites of interest within the Shire, please visit the Blayney Tourism site